Movie Stills

Long overdue.

A few movie stills I want to share from a film class I attended last summer (almost a year ago!):

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 9.52.04 PM

Yellow Earth 1984

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 9.51.54 PM

Les combattants 2014

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 9.53.22 PM

Les combattants 2014

I took a film elective under the Filipino department of my university that will hopefully be credited under my minor in Filipino Literature. We watched a lot of so called indie films and documentaries from all over the world; France, China, Vietnam, Senegal, Iran; films that not only had interesting stories to tell, but that commented on films themselves, even the way we watch films.

When I got home, for the break it was back to Hollywood movies. One weekend, we watched The Avengers and I noticed a theatricality to it that I hadn’t seen before. I love super hero movies and Science Fiction, but after a summer of watching black and white Fritz Lang films and French movies, The Avengers felt fake. Not even fake in the hopeful sense, in the sense that we can believe in super heroes and gasp at the destruction of New York City, or laugh at Captain America’s stereotypical American-ness, but fake in that all these things became visible to me.

I’m not saying that watching off-Hollywood cinema is going to make you jaded; I’m not jaded. I think watching other films has allowed me to see Hollywood in a different way. Yesterday my friends were asking me about literature and (jokingly) how they might apply literary readings to their textbooks to make them more interesting. I replied that doing so might take away the joy of reading novels, but I want to take that back. new ways of seeing or watching or reading doesn’t take away love, it just lets you love differently.

Leave a Reply

