Open To Imperfection

0

When drawing, I look forward to opportunities for lines. Hair, the veins of plants, the texture of fabric. The more I draw lines, the more I see why I am so attracted to them: they never fail to surprise me. When I draw lines, I know where each individual one is going, but together, they create a pattern I can never exactly predict. These patterns also give plenty of opportunity for mending errors. Sometimes, the errors add to the beauty of the artwork.

Last week, I came across an artist who works around imperfection, Rami Kim.

I love how a blotch here or smear of paint there adds to the singularity of her designs. Her work captivates me because I struggle to find a style that is as versatile and simple, yet as creative as her’s. Simplicity: straight lines. I really enjoy drawing them. I’m happy while I draw them. Maybe style is simply derived from what method you’re most comfortable with. Art Spiegelman, who wrote Maus has a very complicated drawing process where he makes several drafts and traces and uses a desk with light under it. I like to think that he found his style working in the safest way he felt.

What is style? Does it depend on ability or taste?

Leave a comment